Skip to content

Dear Chick-Fil-A, and all the controversy.

August 6, 2012

As someone who claims to be a christian, which in all honesty i try not to say that anymore,  i just try to say i have a relationship with God, i’m embarrassed at the way we have acted…let me explain.

So Chick-Fil-A dude came out and said his establishment has always been against Gay marriage and has always been a christian, ran, fast food joint.  Thats fine, say what you want, thats the great thing about America, say what you want, but of course with your words will come the backlash.  So of course, then came the backlash of hatred, not only did the Gay community lash out, but in my opinion, so did the christians.

I’ve kept my mouth kinda shut on this matter for a while.  Ignoring the thousands upon thousands of pictures and post of the sort on Facebook, so now i’m going to throw my opinion out there, where you don’t have to read it if you don’t want to.

Eric’s Opinion on this matter:
Well its embarrassing.  I don’t believe in Gay marriage, if thats what you came for there ya go.  But does that mean I hate gay people? or does that mean I hate people for it? Absolutely not at all.  As a “Christian” we are told that we are supposed to love everyone, fault aside, sins aside, we love everyone.  For ALL have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.  We treat each other with love, respect, and kindness.  Not hating a man for his opinion, or going to some huge “Support Chick-Fil-A day”.  These acts are an outpouring of hate.  Hate for our fellow man or woman.  Hate is supposed to be beneath us as Christians.

So my fellow “Christians” who say “Well you’re not standing up for our beliefs and blah blah blah”  As someone who feels like i have a real relationship with God, and not a fake “look at me, this means i’m christian!” attitude.  I choose to ignore what the world focuses on, and pay more attention to what God has for me.  I’m not ashamed of my God, and if you ask me what i think i’ll tell you in a heartbeat. But i’m God focused, and not world Focused.  Call me old fashion in this since if you want.

 

Final thoughts:
The more we continue to speak out and “Protest!” the more it makes us look bad as Christians/children of God.  Have you ever stopped and thought that “Wow, maybe this was a ploy to get Chick-Fil-A to have the best sales record EVER in the company’s history”?  Focus on what you have with God and less on what the world wants to show.  Love everyone as Jesus loved us.  And of course as everyone says, but apparently doesn’t follow, hate the sin NOT the sinner.

 

Thats all for my preaching, and I hope you read all of this, feel free to leave comments on how you feel about what i’ve said here, and as always, Thanks for reading!

From → Drama, Life

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

